Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cisco Switch setup

I was trying to get some information for one of my customers network techs as to the proper setup of their Cisco switches.
    1. How should the ports be configured that are going to the shoretel switches
    2. How should the ports be configured that are going the the phones
    3. what ports should be opened on the firewall for remote access
    4. can someone also tell me how much bandwidth is typically used in a citrix enviroment where the citrix server is at a remote site and the PCM is loaded on that server.
    thanks for any help at all on these questions?

I am not an expert on Cisco switches, but I have several successful ShoreTel implementations which have had a Cisco network infrastructure. On these I delegated the configuration of the network back to the customer or hired a guy for a couple of days to do the work on my behalf.

There are a couple of technotes on the ShoreTel knowlegebase that I tend to bundle off to the customer or the the Cisco guy. This normally seems to do the trick and when I turn up with armfuls of ShoreTel kit and plug it all in it all turns out OK.

Search for "Best Practice" on the ShoreTel knowlegebase and there are about 3 technotes which are quite handy, one on VLANs, one on WANs and one on Network Security.

Please forgive me if my grasp of Cisco terminology is incorrect, I do Procurve and Extreme so I have included their terminology as well. Colors indicate who's terminology I am referring to.

1. How should the ports be configured that are going to the shoretel switches

First of all the ports to which you connect the ShoreGear switches need to be100Mb Full Duplex - Cisco doesn't seem to negotiate this automatically very well. However, I have noticed that when I do this with an Extreme switch, it is best to leave them on Auto.
    Vlans should be configured as "Native" or "Untagged" ports in the voice vlan.