No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• User Voicemail Skipping

Salutations,

Brand new user here. I am having an interesting issue with our Voicemail, and after extensive google searching I have been unable to find anyone having similar. Google did lead me to these forums though so I hope to lean on you fine folks from time to time!

Bit of background, I have inherited an aging Shoretel system with about 50 IP phones of various G and non G models running a Shoregear T1 and an SG-90. I have very little PBX experience and if I am honest, insufficient networking knowledge for what I have been placed in charge of. Recently in an attempt to increase throughput in the office for lower cost I tested a Grandstream GXP2140 on the system using SIP protocols. I had hoped to replace our IP115 and 230's with a cheap G phone. After getting it working for my test user, I realized we had no SIP licenses and I abandoned the project as economically inefficient. Since then we have been having a strange issue where randomly some users experience problems with their voicemail menu skipping ahead. It will begin listing off the options such as "press 1 to hear message, press 2 to ...", but after the attendant says 2 or 3 words she skips to the next option. "Welcome to Shor..., Press 1 to..., Press 2 to..., Press 3..., Press 4..." Users are unable to access voicemail since it does not accept any input while this is happening. After anywhere from 5 minutes to 20 minutes the issue will cease and the user will be able to get their voicemail. Users appear to be randomly affected and this does not affect their ability to place or receive calls or transfers.

I have rebooted the appliances and our resource usage is under 20%. No errors in the logs to indicate an issue. I have gone back an reversed the SIP settings I changed (that I could remember) in case something I did was the cause, but it did not resolve.