No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shoreware Director Event 119 Warning

Good evening all,

I am still a fairly new Shoretel/Mitel administrator, so still learning the ropes. One of the things I noticed in the event viewer of my Shoretel server was Event 119 being logged multiple times a day. The description is something like this:

Switch ST100DA: Excessive number of packets lost from 10.11.10.2 (15753 out of 36829).

Obviously the numbers change but the devices in question are always the same, the ST100DA and the host 10.11.10.2, which is our SBC. These are SIP trunks.

So one of the things I have gone through with a fine toothed comb was QoS settings. I'm 100% confident QoS is configured end to end and is working properly. The SBC and ST100DA are on the same switch and the ports are nowhere near capacity. Nobody is reporting any call quality issues on these calls where the lost packets reported are so high, there would have to be some noticeable degradation. But I happened to be on a call earlier, after hours, and when I hung up, I got an notification about excessive packet loss on the call, but the call quality was fine. It then occurred to me that I had been placed on hold during the call, and there was a period of silence where there was no music or anything playing while I was on hold. I was able to duplicate this behavior on another call.

So I guess my observation is that this is something that happens on SIP trunks when we're placed on hold, but my questions are, is this the way its supposed to work? I guess it could make sense to just not send any RTP packets during periods of silence, but it doesn't make sense to me that the Shoretel system would perceive this as packet loss. Is something misconfigured between my Shoretel and my Adtran SBC? Is this a bug/bogus error report and safely ignorable?

Thanks in advance.

Hi there things to try;