No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• migration/upgrade

ok, here is what I want to do....
    I have a primary shoretel server and a dvm. they are running version 7 and i want/need to get to 8.5
    I also want/need to upgrade my primary server to new hardware. Is the following possible/smart to do?
    1. build new server on new hardware and install version 7 of shoretel
    2. copy shoretel files (not sure which ones I need) to new server from old server
    3. upgrade new server to 8.5 while current system is running as is
    4. when that is complete and functioning, shut down current server and boot up new server with same ip as old server
    5. reoot switches and phones to get new firmware

thoughts?

I have been reading the forum for a while, but this is my first post. I have some experience on this one. So here goes...

I would upgrade on existing servers if at all possible. Then do a migration to the new hardware on a clean OS with a clean install of ShoreTel. Same or different IP and machine name is optional when migrating. One is just more work than the other for the switches in my experience.

We are about to perform a two step upgrade from 7.0 to 9.1 in a couple of weeks on a multi-site system. I plan on landing the 9.1 systems on clean OS's with a clean install of 9.1 when finished. I'll be happy to post the overview if you want to include what to backup before the upgrade.

Comment

that would be good, I am just afraid that I don't ave the disk space on my current shoretel server to complete the upgrade. I sized it poorly when i set it up a few years ago.

Comment

OK. I would do the following:

1. Install OS and pre-reqs on the new server.
        2. Stop the ShoreTel services on the old HQ server and backup the "Shoreline Data" folder.
        3. Shut down that HQ server.
        4. Give the new server the same IP as the old HQ server.