Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Isolating bad T1...how?

I am an admin for a company with around 60 users, shoretel 6, around 4 ShoreGear24 voice switches and a pair of T1s in a single trunk group. Recently one of our T1s developed this really nasty signalling error where the D-channel will just drop out and then come back...which means that whichever call is on that trunk will just drop. Needless to say, having multiple users (some of which are sales folk) come up to you complaining about disconnected calls is...disconcerting.

Now, since we have a pair of T1s I would like to send all voice traffic from the faulty T1 to the good T1, or until the bad T1 is fixed. The problem is that when I send the bad T1 PRI a command to put it out of service, I get no incoming calls at all. Doesn't the system load-balance so when one T1 is out of service, the other will take over? Or is this to be handled on the TelCo side?

I am not a Telco engineer...I am the server support guy being shoehorned into this role due to staff attrition. What steps should I look into for troubleshooting this?
    Last edited by WANg; 08-29-2008, 08:35 AM.

Inbound routing is done on the telco side of the house. If telco is only routing calls on the first t-1 then when you put it out of service you have effectively stopped al inbound traffic. You need to get in touch with your carrier and find out how they are routing calls. If they are routing you inbound on both spans get them to put the first span out of service until the signalling issue can be resolved.

Comment

Pri

Are the PRI's at different locations?

Teleman is on it. Inbound routing is done by the telco. I have never seen any sort of load balancing/fail over with PRI's like you are wanting for small business.

The real question is why are the PRI's going down in the first place. They should be damn near rock solid.

Outbound traffic should auto-redirect by the shoretel system. inbound you are hosed.